Kabir Khan’s next will be a biopic based on Kapil Dev & victory of World Cup 1983!

The film is said to star Arjun Kapoor who will play Kapil Dev in the biopic, while Phantom Films will be producing this sport-flick!

By BollywoodMDB Team - September 22, 2017

There is no doubt that Bollywood and its filmmakers seem to be fascinated by the idea of biopics, especially based on a sports person! In the nutshell, Shraddha Kapoor is busy getting training of badminton from Saina Nehwal for the biopic based on badminton icon, whereas Harshvardhan Kapoor begins his prep for Abhinav Bindra biopic. And next in the line, as per the updates, Kabir Khan is planning to make a sports biopic based on the life of former Indian cricket captain Kapil Dev, focusing the incredible victory of World Cup 1983. And according to the sources, Arjun Kapoor has been roped in to play the leading role in the film!

Kabir Khan’s next will be a biopic based on Kapil Dev & victory of World Cup 1983!
Kapil Dev & Arjun Kapoor

More about the film, the current working title of this film is World Cup 1983 and screenplay is written by Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan. In the production team, Phantom Films and Vishnu Vardhan Induri who is the founder and managing director of the Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) will be co-producing this venture! There is also some news reports making rounds that film will be announced at an event on 27th September and the whole team that made this victory possible will be present at that event!

So far, director Kabir Khan chose a safe bait to bounce back from the failure of Tubelight! As for those have forgotten the victory, it was odd and most of the players playing lost all the hope as score set as the target was low. And since it will be recreated on silver screen, the film would likely to have a gripping storyline and a thrilling screenplay to give a taste of excitement everyone felt on the day of victory! Sure BollywoodMDB will keep you posted on every update on this biopic!

Mumbai Delhi NCR Bengaluru Hyderabad Kolkata Pune Chennai Chandigarh