Juhi Chawla, Nawazuddin Siddiqui to be honoured with Indira Gandhi Award 2015

Juhi Chawla and Nawazuddin Siddiqui will be felicitated with Indira Gandhi Award 2015.

By BollywoodMDB Team - November 19, 2015

Bollywood stars Juhi Chawla and Nawazuddin Siddiqui are the personas that have been selected to be honoured with the prestigious Indira Gandhi Memorial Award 2015, reportedly. The list of other personalities who will be awarded include the international athlete Kavita Raut, industrialist Megha Phansalkar, first woman editor of a Marathi daily Punyanagari Ruhi Bhide, academician Farida Lambay and author Kavita Mahajan.

Nawazuddin who essayed Dashrath Manjhi in the film 'Manjhi The Mountain Man' is the only male chosen for this award this year. Mumbai Congress President Sanjay Nirupam said "Two prominent personalities - former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, the first woman to hold the august post, and All India Congress Committee general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi, who both worked with late Pime Minister Indira Gandhi for many years, shall be the chief guests and felicitate all the awardees,"

Indira Gandhi's birth anniversary is celebrated by felicitating the leading personas from different fields for their achievements. No cash award or other benefits are carried by this honour.

The award function will take place today at Y.B. Chavan Auditorium on the occasion of Indira Gandhi's 98th birth anniversary. This event will be attended by the top Congress leaders, past and present lawmakers and former union ministers.